Abbot Award

The Southern Lepidopterists’ Society’s Annual John Abbot Award


The Abbot Award is awarded annually to an individual who has made significant contributions to our understanding of the Lepidoptera of the Southern region of the U.S. These contributions can include, but are not limited to, research, publication, fostering public awareness and other projects. This person is chosen from a list of nominees by vote of the membership. The Abbot award was created to recognize the efforts of nominated individuals, major contributors to the knowlege of Lepidoptera fauna in the United States, with particular emphasis on the south, though not necessarily restricted to the region.

Continue reading



Officers of the Southern Lepidopterists’ Society
John Hyatt
Kingsport, TN
Jeffrey R. Slotten
Gainesville, FL
Secretary pro tem
Steve Mix
Beaufort, SC
Membership Coordinator
Marc Minno
Gainesville, FL
News Editor
Barry Lombardini
Lubbock, TX
James Adams
Calhoun, GA
Website Manager
Dave Morgan
Atlanta, GA
Matt Blaine
Laurel, DE
Peter Van Zandt
Birmingham, AL